top of page

Basics of Tea

What is Tea?

All tea comes from one flowering evergreen shrub, Camellia sinensis, regardless of where it is grown. The variation in teas is caused by differing conditions in the tea-growing countries - geographic characteristics, when and how it is plucked and what is done to the leaf after it is plucked.

Types Of Tea

There are 3 major classification of tea - Black (fermented), Green (unfermented) and Oolong (semi-fermented). These are achieved by different manufacturing processes, i.e., varying degrees of withering (evaporation of moisture), rolling, oxidation (fermentation) and heat. The tea most commonly known around the world is black tea, although, of late, green tea has also gained wide acclaim.

Rooibos does not come from the Camellia Sinensis plant but rather the Fabaceae family. Rooibos, meaning "red bush" grows in South Africa. The leaves our used to make a herbal tea.

bottom of page